Double Chocolate Chunk Brownies!

image2

Gooey Chocolate Chunk Brownies (excuse my unprofessional photography skills)

This brownie recipe is by far the best brownie I have ever eaten in my life. When I was in second year of college, my old roommate gave it to me, warning me that it was the secret recipe of her Indian grandmother, and that I must never EVER let this recipe slip under the gaze of another living human being… Fast forward three years later and as I was browsing through BBC Good Food, low and behold I came across the exact same recipe and therefore feel it necessary to share it with everyone who I meet!

I have had my fair share of difficulty with this brownie; the cooking time is absolutely imperative to creating the correct texture and leave it in two minutes short, it becomes a gooey mess, while two minutes late and it burns to a crisp. After attempting and failing several times to perfect this recipe, I now feel like I have discovered the correct formula to make this heavenly brownie a success at every party and event.

While the amount of sugar in the recipe will probably make you have sleepless nights, this isn’t the cheapest recipe to bake, so it isn’t as if you’ll be eating this dessert every week. As a treat, I like to buy good quality vanilla ice-cream and make a nice cup of tea, before settling down to the perfect guilty pleasure after a long day at work.

If followed correctly, I hope that this recipe will bring you the same amount of happiness and pleasure that it brings me every time I make it! You can give this recipe your own twist by adding nuts or marshmallows to the recipe below!

Double Chocolate Chunk Brownies:

Ingredients:

  • 180g good quality dark chocolate
  • 185g unsalted butter
  • 85g plain flour
  • 40g cocoa powder
  • 70g milk chocolate (I use 3/4 of a chopped up Milka bar)
  • 70g white chocolate (also a Milka bar)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 275g golden caster sugar
  • Handful of hazelnuts/ mini marshmallows, dried cherries (optional)

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 160C – this temperature is imperative!!! Grease your tin; the original recipe suggests to use a flat, rectangular shaped tin approximately 20cm but for mine I use a deep, square tin. If you are using a rectangular, shallow tin then you will need to reduce the cooking time for the brownies.
  2. Chop up the butter into small cubes and break the dark chocolate into small pieces. Put both in a microwaveable bowl and heat until melted (approximately three minutes). Take out after one minute to mix the mixture before continuing to heat, always keeping an eye on it to ensure that it will not burn. Once melted, take out and set aside to cool.
  3. Sieve the flour and cocoa powder together to introduce air and to get rid of any lumps.
  4. Crack the eggs into a mixing bowl and add the sugar. Whisk until the mixture becomes pale and almost doubles in size. I use a regular hand whisk so this usually takes about five minutes but for those who are privileged enough to own an electric mixture, it should only take about three.
  5. Add the cooled chocolate and butter mixture to the eggs and sugar and mix with a wooden spoon. Mix the ingredients slowly and be careful not to over-mix, you should make a figure of eight in the middle about six times to ensure that everything is combined but not overdone.
  6. Add the flour mixture and continue to make a figure of eight mixing motion, once again ensuring that you do not over-mix.
  7. Chop up the milk and white chocolate (as I said in the ingredients I usually just buy a block of white and milk Milka chocolate and chop them up into smallish chunks. A bar is 100g in Holland so I usually just use 3/4 of a packet) and add to the mixture.
  8. Pour the mixture into the tin and cook at 160C for 38 minutes. After this time you can take a knife and stick it in the centre of the brownie dish. If the knife has a very gooey mixture left behind, put it back in the oven for another two minutes but no longer as the mixture will completely dry up. If it seems only slightly gooey then you can leave it aside to sit; as the mixture cools, the centre will harden so that the inside will not fall apart when you begin to cut them. I usually cut the brownies 4×4 to get sixteen brownies as they are incredibly heavy and rich.

And that is it! Easy peasy, delicious brownie recipe!   I hope you try and enjoy them and if you do please comment and let me know what you think! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Chunk Brownies!

Leave a Reply

